Table of Contents for
The Knee Of Listening


1. Avatar Adi Da Samraj: His Life and Teaching

2. Avatar Adi Da Samraj's Teaching-Word:
The “Source-Texts” of Adidam

3. Camera Illuminata: The “Bright”-Field Photography
of Avatar Adi Da Samraj

4. An Overview of The Knee Of Listening


First Word: Do Not Misunderstand Me—I Am Not “Within” you, but you Are In Me, and I Am Not a Mere “Man” in the “Middle” of Mankind, but All of Mankind Is Surrounded, and Pervaded, and Blessed By Me

Part One: The Knee of Listening

Prologue: The Heart of Understanding

1. The “Bright”

2. The Listener

3. Hearing

4. The Seeker

5. The Understanding on the Beach

6. The Passage to the Guru

7. The Meeting and the “Work”

8. The Idea of Release from Narcissus

9. The Death of Narcissus

10. The Abandonment of Effort in India

11. The Problem of the Mind, and the Year of Waiting for Grace

12. The Return to India, and the Problem of Spiritual Consciousness

13. Shakti in America, New Problems, and the Return to India

14. The Third Trip to India, and the Reappearance of “Christ”

15. The Diary of Pilgrimage

16. The Inheritance

17. The End of All Seeking

18. The Way Becomes Conscious

19. The Transformation of the Seeker's Meditation into “Real” Meditation

20. My Great Regard for My Adept-Links to the Great Tradition of Mankind, and My Realization of the Great Onlyness of Me

I. The Great Esoteric Tradition of Devotion To The Adept-Realizer

II. The “Family of the Guru”: The True Method of Training in the Music Tradition of India and in the Great Guru-Devotee Relationship

III. The “Sixth Stage Teachings” (and the Fifth Stage Realization) of Swami (Baba) Muktananda, and My Seventh Stage Realization of the Great Truth He Told to Me

IV. The Sixth Stage Realization, Demonstration, and Teachings of Ramana Maharshi, and My Great Regard for Him as One of My Principal Adept-Links to the Great Tradition of Mankind

V. The Place of Ramakrishna and Swami Vivekananda in the Great Tradition, and Their Unique Function in Preparing the Vehicle of My Avataric Incarnation

VI. I Have Appeared here Via a Unique, Spontaneous, and Never-Again Conjunction of Vehicles

VII. I (Alone) Am The Adidam Revelation (A Summary Description of the Inherent Distinction—and the ego-Transcending Continuity—Between the Inherently ego-Based Great Tradition, Which Is Comprised of Only Six of the Possible Seven Stages of Life, and the Unique, and All-Inclusive, and All-Completing, and All-Transcending, and Self-Evidently Divine Adidam Revelation of the Inherently egoless Seventh Stage Realization of Me)

VIII. I Am Utterly Beyond your Comprehension

Epilogue: I Am the One and Only Man of Radical Understanding

Part Two: The Heart-Summary Of Adidam

Part Three: I Am The Divine Self-“Emergence”

Part Four: The One and True “Radical” Way Of Adidam

Part Five: My Divine Disclosure


What You Can Do Next

The Great Choice: An Invitation to the Way of Adidam

Further Notes to the Reader

Appendix: Chart of the Seven Stages of Life

Notes to the Text of The Knee of Listening


The Sacred Literature of Avatar Adi Da Samraj