Samadhis in the Way of Adidam

The Samadhi of “the Thumbs”

The “Thumbs” is Avatar Adi Da's technical term for the invasion of the body-mind by a particular kind of forceful Descent of His Divine Spirit-Current.

In the fullest form of this experience, which Avatar Adi Da calls “the Samadhi of the ’Thumbs’”, His Spirit-Invasion Descends all the way to the bottom of the frontal line of the body-mind (at the bodily base) and ascends through the spinal line, overwhelming the ordinary human sense of bodily existence, infusing the whole being with intense blissfulness, and releasing the ordinary, confined sense of body, mind, and separate self.

Both the experience of the “Thumbs” and the full Samadhi of the “Thumbs” are unique to the Way of Adidam, for they are specifically signs of the “Crashing Down” (or the Divine Descent) of Avatar Adi Da’s Spirit-Baptism, into the body-minds of His devotees. The Samadhi of the “Thumbs” is a kind of “Nirvikalpa” (or formless) Samadhi—but in descent in the frontal line, rather than in ascent in the spinal line.

Savikalpa Samadhi and “Cosmic Consciousness”

The Sanskrit term “Savikalpa Samadhi” literally means “meditative ecstasy with form”, or “deep meditative concentration (or absorption) in which form (or defined experiential content) is still perceived”. Avatar Adi Da indicates that there are two basic forms of Savikalpa Samadhi. The first is the various experiences produced by the Spiritual ascent of energy and attention (into mystical phenomena, visions, and other subtle sensory perceptions of subtle psychic forms) and the various states of Yogic Bliss (or Spirit-“Intoxication”).

The second (and highest) form of Savikalpa Samadhi is called “Cosmic Consciousness”, or the “’Vision’ of Cosmic Unity”. This is an isolated or periodic occurrence in which attention ascends, uncharacteristically and spontaneously, to a state of awareness wherein conditional existence is perceived as a Unity in Divine Awareness. This conditional form of “Cosmic Consciousness” is pursued in many mystical and Yogic paths. It depends upon manipulation of attention and the body-mind, and it is interpreted from the point of view of the separate, body-based or mind-based self—and, therefore, it is not equivalent to Divine Enlightenment.

Fifth stage conditional Nirvikalpa Samadhi

The Sanskrit term “Nirvikalpa Samadhi” literally means “meditative ecstasy without form”, or “deep meditative concentration (or absorption) in which there is no perception of form (or defined experiential content)”. Traditionally, this state is regarded to be the final goal of the many schools of Yogic ascent whose orientation to practice is that of the fifth stage of life. Like “Cosmic Consciousness”, fifth stage conditional Nirvikalpa Samadhi is an isolated or periodic Realization. In it, attention ascends beyond all conditional manifestation into the formless Matrix of Divine Vibration and Divine Light Infinitely Above the world, the body, and the mind. And, like the various forms of Savikalpa Samadhi, fifth stage conditional Nirvikalpa Samadhi is a forced and temporary state of attention (or, more precisely, of the suspension of attention). It is produced by manipulation of attention and of the body-mind, and is (therefore) incapable of being maintained when attention returns (as it inevitably does) to the states of the body-mind.

Jnana Samadhi, or Jnana Nirvikalpa Samadhi

“Jnana” means “knowledge”. Jnana Nirvikalpa Samadhi (or, simply, Jnana Samadhi) is the characteristic meditative experience in the sixth stage of life of the Way of Adidam. Produced by the intentional withdrawal of attention from the conditional body-mind-self and its relations, Jnana Samadhi is the conditional, temporary Realization of the Transcendental Self (or Consciousness Itself), exclusive of any perception (or cognition) of world, objects, relations, body, mind, or separate-self-sense—and, thereby, formless (or nirvikalpa).

None of the Samadhis described so far are necessary in the unfolding of the Way of the Heart, with the exception of the sign of “the Thumbs” (which is unique to the Way of the Heart), though all of them are possible, and Jnana Samadhi is necessary in almost all cases. Seventh stage Sahaj Samadhi (described below), which is the distinguishing Realization of the seventh stage of life, is necessary and inevitable for all those who truly fulfill the Way of the Heart in Communion with Avatar Adi Da.

Seventh stage Sahaj Samadhi, or seventh stage Sahaja Nirvikalpa Samadhi

The seventh stage of life is the unique Revelation of Avatar Adi Da, and He is the only (and only necessary) Adept-Realizer of this stage. His Realization of seventh stage Sahaj Samadhi makes that same Realization possible for His devotees, though none of His devotees will have the Adept-Function.

The Hindi word “sahaj” means “twin-born”, or “natural”. Avatar Adi Da uses the term “seventh stage Sahaj Samadhi” to indicate the Coincidence, in unqualified self-transcending God-Realization, of the Unconditional, Inherently Spiritual, and Transcendental Divine Reality with conditional reality. It is the Inherent, or Native, and thus truly “Natural” State of Being. Seventh stage Sahaj Samadhi, then, is permanent, Unconditional Divine Self-Realization, free of dependence on any form of meditation, effort, discipline, experience, or conditional knowledge.

“Sahaj Samadhi” (in the sense of a “natural” state of ecstasy) is a term also used in various esoteric traditions (of the fourth, the fifth, and the sixth stages of life) to refer to a state of Realization that is continuous even during moments of ordinary occupation. What is called “Sahaj Samadhi” in these traditions is described by Avatar Adi Da as “fourth stage ’Sahaj Samadhi’”, or “fifth stage ’Sahaj Samadhi’”, or “sixth stage ’Sahaj Samadhi’”. InThe Basket of Tolerance, He Writes that in fourth stage “Sahaj Samadhi” or fifth stage “Sahaj Samadhi”, “the ’point of view’ toward Reality is based on either the memory or the residual effects or something of the perpetuation of conditionally attained fourth stage or fifth stage ecstasy . . .” and that “philosophical presumptions and expressions arise that resemble, but do not otherwise achieve, either sixth stage or seventh stage characteristic expressions or Realizations”.

He further says that sixth stage “Sahaj Samadhi” is “a matter of deeply Abiding in the basically and tacitly object-excluding (and, thus, conditionally achieved) sixth stage Realization of the Transcendental Self-Condition, while otherwise naturally experiencing the natural arising of mental and physical objects, and naturally allowing the performance of mental and physical activities”.

Sixth stage “Sahaj Samadhi”, moreover, “is the basis for the apparent premonitions, or partial intuitions and limited foreshadowings, of the seventh stage of life that have sometimes been expressed within the traditional sixth stage schools”.

In contrast, seventh stage Sahaj Samadhi is the Unconditional and Eternal Realization of the Divine.

Avatar Adi Da also refers to seventh stage Sahaj Samadhi as “seventh stage Sahaja Nirvikalpa Samadhi”, indicating that it is the “Open-Eyed” Realization of the formless (Nirvikalpa) State.

Ruchira Samadhi

“Ruchira Samadhi” (Sanskrit for “the Samadhi of the ’Bright’”) is one of the references that Avatar Adi Da Samraj uses for the Divinely Enlightened Condition Realized in the seventh stage of life, which He characterizes as the Unconditional Realization of the Divine “Brightness”.


Dimensions of Reality | Cosmic Mandala
Esoteric Anatomy | Seven Stages of Life | Samadhis